Lectures 6, 7, 8 and 9.

We continuted looking at evidence. Most of the stuff about selective transmission I’d already encountered at A-level, but it was useful to be reminded of it. We also considered how and when to reference, which I was particularly grateful for, since referencing let me down in my essay. I hope I’ve improved on that now.

We then looked at some examples of source analysis essays, and then planned one about Aristotle. I can’t say I’m warming to him, though I’m trying.  I think I’ve pinpointed my dislike of him back to his dismissal of the Spartan system of government, which I find interesting. I’ll have to keep that in mind when working with Aristotle, or else I might fall into the trap of thinking I’m being objective when I cannot be.

Getting along okay with my source analysis, though I’m finding the 1000 words word limit constraining, again. There’s so much I could talk about in my essay, I could easily push it to 3000 words, but instead I’ve had to cut it back to the bare miminum, meaning it seems a little threadbare. I’ll have to see what I can do about that.

Leave a Reply

