Lecure 2

So, the first real lecture into the course, and I have to say I’m enjoying it. At the moment we’re only really covering a brief outline of the Greeks and Romans, starting with the Mycenaean civilisation, working through to the fall of Rome in the 5th century BCE. So far, many of the Greek events in the Archaic period were familiar to me (though a definition of exactly when the periods start and end was useful).

There also seems to be more emphasis on class discussion than in my other modules, perhaps reflecting the smaller class size. I think this too suits my style of learning.

As for the first essay, “The Scope of Ancient History”, I’ve decided to look at the traditional students of Ancient History, and how they’ve directed the discipline. To this end I have now read both “Classics, a very short introduction” (Beard, Henderson) and “Writing Ancient History” (Morley). The latter was certainly more useful, especially the bibliography and further reading, which have directed me to two of the more prestigious books on Historical Theory (Namely, how history can be studies and written), Rethinking History (Jenkins) and In Defence of History (Evans). I have yet to make up my mind on who I agree with, though I am currently leaning away from Jenkins’  Postmodernist approach.

Leave a Reply

